'Nark me jalega tu' - Fans divided over Rishabh Pant's absence from Indian squad for Sri Lanka series

Rishabh Pant, India's wicketkeeper-batter, has been left off the teams for both the ODI and T20 against Sri Lanka.

Sam Abraham
New Update
Rishabh Pant

Rishabh Pant (source: Twitter)

Rishabh Pant, India's wicketkeeper-batter, has been left off the teams for both the ODI and T20 against Sri Lanka. The batter, who was born in Delhi, has been having trouble lately in the white-ball formats and took a break from the ODI series against Bangladesh.


The management's decision to stick with Dinesh Karthik cost Pant his position in the T20I lineup. The seasoned cricketer took on the responsibility of the team's primary wicketkeeper and participated in the majority of the matches both before and during the 20-20 World Cup 2022.

Despite being a little inconsistent, Pant has largely performed well in terms of his ODI credentials since 2021. In July 2022, he scored his maiden hundred in the format against England, but his subsequent tour of New Zealand was a disappointment.

Ishan Kishan has reportedly advanced in the pecking order as a result of his rising reputation, which has been cemented by his record-breaking double century against Bangladesh. It should be noted that Kishan is the only option for a wicketkeeper in the T20I team, while KL Rahul also becomes available for the ODI squad.


Following the squad announcement, a number of reports claim that Rishabh Pant has actually been given a rest by the team management rather than being completely removed from the lineup. The wicketkeeper-batter, according to sources, needs to strengthen his knee; as a result, he won't be playing in the white-ball series against Sri Lanka.

Team India T20I squad for Sri Lanka T20Is

Hardik Pandya (Captain), Ishan Kishan (wk), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shubman Gill, Suryakumar Yadav (VC), Deepak Hooda, Rahul Tripathi, Sanju Samson, Washington Sundar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Arshdeep Singh, Harshal Patel, Umran Malik, Shivam Mavi, Mukesh Kumar


Team India T20I squad for Sri Lanka ODIs

Rohit Sharma (Captain), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul (wk), Ishan Kishan (wk), Hardik Pandya (VC), Washington Sundar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Axar Patel, Mohd. Shami, Mohd. Siraj, Umran Malik, Arshdeep Singh

Here is how Twitter reacted to Rishabh Pant's absence

Cricket News India tour of Sri Lanka