Mahmudullah added to Bangladesh squad for one-off Test against Zimbabwe

Mahmudullah last represented Bangladesh in Tests in February 2020

Mahmudullah ( Image Credit: Twitter)

Mahmudullah Riyad has been included in the Bangladesh Test squad for the Zimbabwe tour. The Bangladesh T20 skipper will make a return to the Test squad after a gap of 16 months, having last played the longest format of the game against Pakistan in February 2020. As per a report in ESPNcricinfo, the injuries to wicketkeeper batsman Mushfiqur Rahim and opener Tamim Iqbal prompted the selectors to include Mahmudullah in the squad.

“We do not want to take any chances [with injuries]. We are 80% confident that they will play but still we are ensuring to have enough players in the squad,” ESPNcricinfo quoted Akram Khan, Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) Cricket Operations Chairman as saying.

“We had an emergency meeting [Friday] involving board president [Nazmul Hasan] and the selectors. This tour to Zimbabwe is long and the situation [due to Covid-19 pandemic] is difficult. We took Mahmudullah as back-up to Mushfiq. The team management will have an option if they want to play an extra batsman,” the former Bangladesh captain added.

Mahmudullah was part of the Bangladesh squad that played against Pakistan but was dropped from the following series against Zimbabwe, West Indies and Sri Lanka. Bangladesh will leave for Zimbabwe on June 29. The series will kick off with the one-off Test on July 07 at the Harare Sports Club which will be followed by three match ODI series and as many T20Is.

Test Squad – Mominul Haque (capt.), Tamim Iqbal, Shadman Islam, Saif Hassan. Najmul Hossain Shanto, Mushfiqur Rahim, Shakib Al Hasan, Liton Das, Mahmudullah, Yasir Ali, Nurul Hasan, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Taijul Islam, Nayeem Hasan, Abu Jayed, Taskin Ahmed, Ebadat Hossain, Shoriful Islam.

ODI squad – Tamim Iqbal (capt.), Mohammad Naim, Liton Das, Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mahmudullah, Mosaddek Hossain, Mohammad Mithun, Afif Hossain, Nurul Hasan, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Taijul Islam, Mohammad Saifuddin, Mustafizur Rahman, Taskin Ahmed, Rubel Hossain, Shoriful Islam.

T20I squad – Mahmudullah (capt), Tamim Iqbal, Mohammad Naim, Liton Das, Shakib Al Hasan, Soumya Sarkar, Afif Hossain, Shamim Hossain, Nurul Hasan, Nasum Ahmed, Mahedi Hasan, Aminul Islam, Mohammad Saifuddin, Mustafizur Rahman, Taskin Ahmed, Shoriful Islam

Sachin Tendulkar

Sachin Tendulkar in awe of Kyle Jamieson, feels he can become one of the leading all-rounders in world cricket


Euro 2020: Round of 16 – Day 2 – Schedule, Match Preview, Head to Head Stats, Timings & Venue Details