Lanka Premier League: Jaffna Kings win back to back titles after stellar win over Galle Gladiators

This was Jaffna’s second title

Jaffna Kings
Jaffna Kings (Image Credit: Twitter)

Different franchise, same team and same results. Jaffna Kings defended their Lanka Premier League title in a grand style. They have been simply outstanding throughout the season and were way above the rest of the competing teams, truly deserving of the title.

Despite their stellar run, they had failed to break past Galle Gladiators in the previous three games. However, they outclassed them when it mattered the most. Kings defeated Gladiators by 23 runs to win back to back titles.

The win was as dominating as it gets. Batting first, Kings posted a daunting total of 201-3. The batters have been in top form throughout the season and the final was no different. Avishka Fernando and Rahmanullah Gurbaz gave the team a blistering start.

The pair added 56 runs in 5.2 overs. Post the wicket of Gurbaz, Fernando and Tom Kohler-Cadmore joined hands and decimated a strong Gladiators attack. The duo added 63 runs in 44 balls to set up the platform for the likes of Thisara Perera and Shoaib Malik to finish the inning on a high, which they did. Malik made 23 off 11 balls, while Perera remained not out on 17 off 9 balls.

Chasing a mammoth target, Gladiators started with a bang, with Kusal Mendis and Danushka Gunathilaka playing some crisp shots. Gunathilaka made a blazing 53 off 21 balls to spook life in the chase. However, post his departure, none of the batters could resist the Kings bowling. Mendis was looking good but an unfortunate run out ended his hopes as well as of the team. Gladiators ended their innings at 178-9.

Shoaib Akhtar

Shoaib Akhtar, Sanath Jayasuriya to play for Asia Lions in Legends Cricket League

Josh Hazlewood

Ashes 2021-22: Josh Hazlewood unlikely to return for Boxing Day Test