'Khak kar di wickets Khaka ne' - South Africa crush England to secure their maiden appearance in Women's 20-20 World Cup 2023 Final

South Africa beat 2009 winners, England in the second semifinal of the ongoing Women's 20-20 World Cup 2023 at Newlands, Cape Town

New Update
South Africa Women

South Africa Women (Image Credit: Twitter)

South Africa and England locked horns in the second semis of the ongoing Women's 20-20 World Cup 2023. In the game, the Proteas won the toss and elected to bat first. The decision was proved right as openers, Laura Wolvaardt, and Tazmin Brits put together 96 runs for the first wicket. Both batters scored a fifty and laid a great platform.


Marizanne Kapp played a cameo of 27 off 13 balls to help the team reach 164/4. For the 2009 winners, left-arm spinner Sophie Ecclestone took three wickets while Lauren Bell took one. In reply, the Three Lionesses got off to a great start. The likes of Sophia Dunkley and Danni Wyatt put together 53 runs for the first wicket in just five overs.

However, the Green Brigade's veteran pacer, Shabnam Ismail took two wickets in the sixth over to bring the team into the game. However, after losing two more wickets in the middle overs, England was looking like winning the game. In the 18th over, Ayaboga Khaka took three wickets to bag the game for the team. In the end, South Africa won the game by six runs. With this, the team has qualified for the final for the first time.

You dream to show up such moments: Tazmin Brits


After the game, Brits was adjudged Player of the Match. She scored a fifty and took important catches for the team

"As a cricketer you dream to show up at such moments. Thank you to the crowd, without them it wouldn't have been possible. Nice to have backing from your country. We tried to accelerate at the beginning but got a measure of it as the game went on. 140 was a minimum but we got 160. I wrote it down on paper," Brits said in the post-match ceremony.

This is how Twitter reacted

Cricket News England South Africa Women's 20-20 World Cup 2023