'Kab khoon khaulega re tera'- Bangalore fans disappointed yet again after Smriti Mandhana led team eliminated from WTL following UP's win over Gujarat

Bangalore have been eliminated form the Women's T20 League after UP won their match against Gujarat, crushing hopes of fans yet again.

Mar 20, 2023 16:16 IST
New Update
Bangalore WTL

Bangalore WTL (Image source: Twitter)

While UP managed to clinch a thrilling victory against Gujarat, it was the end of the road for Bangalore in the inaugural edition of the Women's T20 League. Despite boasting some of the biggest names in women's cricket, Bangalore failed to make it to the playoffs after a dismal performance throughout the tournament.


Bangalore had a star-studded lineup with the likes of Harmanpreet Kaur, Smriti Mandhana, and Jemimah Rodrigues, but they failed to fire as a unit. Their lackluster performance was evident in their first match of the tournament itself where they were bundled out for just 97 runs against the Titans, eventually losing the match by 6 wickets.

Things didn't get any better for Bangalore as they lost their next three matches in the WTL. While they managed to bounce back with a win against the UP, it was too little too late for the Bangalore-based franchise.

Bangalore's poor performance in the tournament highlights the importance of team cohesion and consistent performances. While they had some of the best playercs in the world, they failed to gel as a team and their performances were lackluster as a result. The team management will have to go back to the drawing board and reassess their strategy for the next edition of the WTL.


On the other hand, UP will be ecstatic with their victory over Gujarat and will be looking to carry this momentum into the playoffs. The likes of Tahlia McGrath and Grace Harris have been instrumental in their success so far and will be key to their chances in the upcoming matches. With the tournament entering its business end, it will be interesting to see which team comes out on top and lifts the inaugural WTL trophy.

Here's how Twitter reacted to Bangalore's disqualification from WTL: 


#Cricket News #Twitter Reactions #Women's T20 League 2023 #Women's T20 League