‘Itne ka toh IPL mei ek player ata hai bass’ – Fans abuzz as prize money for Test Championship final gets announced

Test Championship final between India and Australia will be played from June 7 at The Oval, London

Test Championship Prize pool announced
Test Championship Prize pool announced (Source: Twitter)

The Test Championship final between India and Australia is scheduled to begin on June 7 at The Oval in London. India is competing in its second straight Test Championship final after losing the previous one against New Zealand. Australia, on the other hand, played outstanding cricket throughout this season to reach their first-ever final. The reward money has already been made public by the Apex Cricket Council, and the winner will get a huge sum.

The winning team of the second Test Championship will receive $1.6 million (INR 13.23 crore) in prize money, while the runner-up team will receive $800,000 (INR 6.61 crore). The prize money from the last WTC, in which New Zealand also took home $1.6 million, has not changed. According to their finishes, each team competing in the WTC will receive a portion of the $3.8 million reward that the Apex Cricket Council has declared.

Here’s the Test Championship prize pool breakdown for best-finishing teams

South Africa will receive $450,000 as a result of finishing third after playing every game as planned. Since Ben Stokes took over as Test team captain, England, which had long since been eliminated from contention, has staged a late comeback. Sri Lanka finished in fifth position and received $200,000 in prize money, while England finished in fourth place and received $350,000 in cash. Bangladesh, West Indies, New Zealand, and Pakistan will share a $100,000 prize pool.

Which side ultimately prevails in the Test Championship Final remains to be seen. Will Australia continue to rule the multi-nation events and add another trophy to their collection, or will India be able to end their trophy drought in major competitions? Here are the squads for both teams:

Australia squad: Pat Cummins (c), Scott Boland, Alex Carey (wk), Cameron Green, Marcus Harris, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Josh Inglis (wk), Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Mitchell Marsh, Todd Murphy, Matthew Renshaw, Steve Smith (VC), Mitchell Starc, David Warner

India squad: Rohit Sharma (c), Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Ajinkya Rahane, KS Bharat (wk), Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Shardul Thakur, Mohd. Shami, Mohd. Siraj, Umesh Yadav, Jaydev Unadkat, Ishan Kishan (wk)

Standby players: Ruturaj Gaikwad, Mukesh Kumar, Suryakumar Yadav

Here’s how fans reacted:

IPL 2023 Final: Divine and King to perform

‘In chapriyo ka budget hee baki tha kya?’ – Fans react as Divine and Kings announced as the mid-show performers in IPL 2023 final

Conor McGregor and Cancelo Alvarez, UFC

UFC: Conor McGregor-Cancelo Alvarez rivalry brews as former issues three-word nickname after cryptic post