'Is it Big Boss?' - Fans troll broadcasters as Venkatesh Prasad and Aakash Chopra named commentators for Women’s T20 League

Jio Cinema has announced the commentary panel for the upcoming tournament with Aakash Chopra and Venkatesh Prasad on the list.

New Update
Venkatesh Prasad and Aakash Chopra

Venkatesh Prasad and Aakash Chopra (Source: Twitter)

The inaugural season of the Women's T20 League will kick off on March 4 with a match between Mumbai and Gujarat at the DY Patil stadium in Mumbai. Jio Cinema has announced the commentary panel for the upcoming tournament with less than one day until the big day.


With so many former cricketers and famous commentators on the list, fans were drawn to two names: Aakash Chopra and Venkatesh Prasad. Chopra and Prasad were recently involved in a Twitter feud following the India-Australia Test in Delhi. The debate focused on the form of Indian batter KL Rahul. Both former cricketers had opposing views on India's opener.

Chopra also requested that Prasad join him on his YouTube channel for a proper discussion and exchange of opinions. He also stated that he will not monetize that video. Venkatesh, on the other hand, declined Chopra's offer, calling him an agenda peddler because it didn't fit his story.

However, due to his poor form, Rahul was dropped from the third Test, and Shubman Gill took his place in Indore. Rahul also lost his vice-captaincy, as Hardik Pandya was named Rohit Sharma's deputy for the upcoming ODI series against Australia.


Following this fight, both former cricketers are now on the commentary panel for the upcoming tournament, and fans are thrilled to see them in the same room. Anjum Chopra, Punam Raut, Reema Malhotra, Veda Krishnamurthy, Natalie Germanos, Kate Cross, Mel Jones, Zaheer Khan, and Parthiv Patel are among the other commentators on the list. "Akash Chopra and Venkatesh Prasad sharing the comm box... Huge publicity!" wrote a fan on Twitter.

In the meantime, there will be an opening ceremony before the match between Mumbai and Gujarat. Kriti Sanon, Kiara Advani, and AP Dhillon are all scheduled to perform at a major event.

Here is how Twitter reacted to the news of Venkatesh Prasad and Aakash Chopra

Twitter Reactions Women's T20 League 2023