IPL: Winners list from 2008 to 2023

CSK and MI have now five IPL Titles each to their names.

IPL Winners List (2008-2023)
IPL Winners List (2008-2023)

On 29 May 2023, Chennai Super Kings (CSK) locked horns with Gujarat Titans (GT) in the final of the 16th edition of IPL. CSK were looking for their sixth title while GT were looking for their second consecutive title in two years. Speaking of the match, MS Dhoni won the toss and asked GT to bat first.

While batting first, GT scored a mammoth total of 214 runs for four overs in 20 overs. Sai Sudharsan smashed 96 runs off 47 balls, including eight fours and six sixes. Wriddhiman Saha scored 54 runs off 39 balls, including five fours and one six. In the end, Hardik Pandya remained not out on 21* runs off 12 balls, including two sixes. 

In reply, CSK batters had a pause after just three balls due to rain. After some time, the match resumed and CSK got a revised target of 171 runs in 15 overs. Finally, they managed to chase down the target and won the final by five wickets. At one stage, they needed 13 runs off the last over. It came down to 10 runs off two balls. But, Ravindra Jadeja held his nerves and won the game with a six and four respectively in the last two balls. 

5th IPL Title for CSK

With this win, CSK are now joint-most IPL winners along with Mumbai Indians (MI). Both these teams have now five titles each to their name. Then, Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) remained at the second spot with two titles. Hyderabad-owned franchise, Deccan Chargers have one each while SRH have one title also.  Then, GT and Rajasthan Royals (RR) have one title each to their names.  

Here is the list of IPL winners from 2008 to 2023:

YearWinnerWon ByRunner UpVenue
2023Chennai Super Kings5 wicketsGujarat TitansAhmedabad
2022Gujarat Titans7 wicketsRajasthan RoyalsAhmedabad
2021Chennai Super Kings27 runsKolkata Knight RidersDubai
2020Mumbai Indians5 wicketsDelhi CapitalsDubai
2019Mumbai Indians1 runChennai Super KingsHyderabad
2018Chennai Super Kings8 wicketsSunrisers HyderabadMumbai
2017Mumbai Indians1 runRising Pune SupergiantsHyderabad
2016Sunrisers Hyderabad8 runsRoyal Challengers BangaloreBangalore
2015Mumbai Indians41 runsChennai Super KingsKolkata
2014Kolkata Knight Riders3 wicketsKings XI PunjabBangalore
2013Mumbai Indians23 runsChennai Super KingsKolkata
2012Kolkata Knight Riders5 wicketsChennai Super KingsChennai
2011Chennai Super Kings58 runsRoyal Challengers BangaloreChennai
2010Chennai Super Kings22 runsMumbai IndiansMumbai
2009Deccan Chargers6 runsRoyal Challengers BangaloreJohannesburg
2008Rajasthan Royals3 wicketsChennai Super KingsMumbai
CSK vs GT, IPL 2023 Final

‘Jeet toh Jay Shah kaa script ki hui’ – Funny memes galore as CSK defeat GT by 5 wickets in IPL 2023 Final

MS Dhoni in IPL 2023 Final

‘Aur ek saal Mahi magic’ – Fans react to MS Dhoni as he clears fuss about retirement after IPL 2023 Final