IPL 2024: Five cricket superstars who have failed to win IPL trophy

Cricket News: Here are the five big-name players who have not won the IPL title in their illustrious careers. The list contains some glorious and successful names.

New Update

IPL (Source-Twitter)

T20 Cricket has been attracting a lot of followers, where IPL has presently become the trendsetter. Cricketers from across the world come to India to play with the goal winning the IPL trophy. Over the years, the league created many legends and legendary moments for the cricketing world.


MS Dhoni and Rohit Sharma are two of the most successful skippers in the history of the league. Adding to them, Ambati Rayudu and Hardik Pandya can also be regarded as two most glorious players in terms of league wins.

Virat Kohli on the other hand is yet to taste IPL success for his side Royal Challengers Bangalore. In this list let us take a closer look at the five cricket superstars who haven’t won the IPL title.

AB De Villiers – South Africa



Considered a legitimate superstar in World of cricket, AB De Villiers has never won the IPL. The South African superstar came close twice to the troffee as RCB reached the finals in the 2011 and 2016 editions. Despite his dizzy batting displays, AB De Villiers and RCB couldn’t make it to the title. 

Chris Gayle – West Indies



Known as the ‘World Boss’ Chris Gayle created host of records in the IPL. The former West Indian too has never won the IPL title in his career. His best chance came during his stint with RCB but sadly he fell short on both occasions. Chris Gayle was part of a formidable team along with Virat Kohli and AB De Villiers.

Zaheer Khan – India


Zaheer Khan, the former left-arm pacer had previously won the ODI World Cup with India, but couldn't manage to bag the IPL title. The 45-year-old has uptill now played for three teams RCB, Mumbai Indians, and Delhi Capitals. In fact, Zaheer Khan captained Delhi Capitals for a few seasons though without much success.

Dale Steyn – South Africa


One of the best bowlers of this generation, Dale Steyn has set the game IPL on fire with his swing and pace. The former South African bowler made quite a few batter's life miserable making them look pedestrian. Although, the 40-year-old has never been able to achieve the IPL title, former pace bowler has been great during the tournament.

Virender Sehwag – India


India’s best opener since Sunil Gavaskar was none other than Virender Sehwag. The former opener has won almost every title wearing the India colors, but, the one trophy that eluded Virender Sehwag in his legendary career was the IPL title. The closest he came to realizing that dream was when he reached the finals in 2014 with Punjab Kings. On that day his best friend Gautam Gambhir and his KKR side took home the IPL glory.

IPL IPL 2024