in

IPL 2021: BCCI announces schedule for second phase, MI to take on CSK in opening clash

MI and CSK will face each other to kick off the second leg on September 19.

Mumbai Indians
(Photo Credit BCCI/Twitter)

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has announced the schedule for the remainder of Indian Premier League (IPL) slated to be played in UAE. Defending Champions Mumbai Indians and Chennai Super Kings will resume the T20 extravaganza on September 19 in Dubai, with the final being played on October 15 at the same venue.

Along with the opening fixture, Dubai will also host the first qualifier and final while Sharjah will host the eliminator and qualifier 2. A total of seven doubleheaders will be played, with the first one to take place on September 25. The matches will start at 7: 30 PM IST. In the case of doubleheaders, the first game will start at 3: 30 PM while the second one will begin at 7: 30.

Meanwhile, Chennai Super Kings and Delhi Capitals said they want to reach UAE at least a month before the start of the tournament. As per the reports, both franchises have requested BCCI permissions to do the same. According to Cricbuzz, both CSK and DC have confirmed they want to reach Dubai by August 20.

“We want to be there by August 15, latest by 20th and we have informed the BCCI that we want to be there by then. We are hoping to get the required permissions, without which the logistical plans will be difficult to execute, said CSK CEO Kasi Viswanathan to Cricbuzz.

Here’s the schedule:

Match No. Day Date Time (IST) Match Venue
30 Sunday 19 Sep 2021 7:30 PM CSK vs MI Dubai
31 Monday 20 Sep 2021 7:30 PM KKR vs RCB Abu Dhabi
32 Tuesday 21 Sep 2021 7:30 PM PBKS vs RR Dubai
33 Wednesday 22 Sep 2021 7:30 PM DC vs SRH Dubai
34 Thursday 23 Sep 2021 7:30 PM MI vs KKR Abu Dhabi
35 Friday 24 Sep 2021 7:30 PM RCB vs CSK Sharjah
36 Saturday 25 Sep 2021 3:30 PM DC vs RR Abu Dhabi
37 Saturday 25 Sep 2021 7:30 PM SRH vs PBKS Sharjah
38 Sunday 26 Sep 2021 3:30 PM CSK vs KKR Abu Dhabi
39 Sunday 26 Sep 2021 7:30 PM RCB vs MI Dubai
40 Monday 27 Sep 2021 7:30 PM SRH vs RR Dubai
41 Tuesday 28 Sep 2021 3:30 PM KKR vs DC Sharjah
42 Tuesday 28 Sep 2021 7:30 PM MI vs PBKS Abu Dhabi
43 Wednesday 29 Sep 2021 7:30 PM RR vs RCB Dubai
44 Thursday 30 Sep 2021 7:30 PM SRH vs CSK Sharjah
45 Friday 1 Oct 2021 7:30 PM KKR vs PBKS Dubai
46 Saturday 2 Oct 2021 3:30 PM MI vs DC Sharjah
47 Saturday 2 Oct 2021 7:30 PM RR vs CSK Abu Dhabi
48 Sunday 3 Oct 2021 3:30 PM RCB vs PBKS Sharjah
49 Sunday 3 Oct 2021 7:30 PM KKR vs SRH Dubai
50 Monday 4 Oct 2021 7:30 PM DC vs CSK Dubai
51 Tuesday 5 Oct 2021 7:30 PM RR vs MI Sharjah
52 Wednesday 6 Oct 2021 7:30 PM RCB vs SRH Abu Dhabi
53 Thursday 7 Oct 2021 3:30 PM CSK vs PBKS Dubai
54 Thursday 7 Oct 2021 7:30 PM KKR vs RR Sharjah
55 Friday 8 Oct 2021 3:30 PM SRH vs MI Abu Dhabi
56 Friday 8 Oct 2021 7:30 PM RCB vs DC Dubai
57 Sunday 10 Oct 2021 7:30 PM Qualifier 1 Dubai
58 Monday 11 Oct 2021 7:30 PM Eliminator Sharjah
59 Wednesday 13 Oct 2021 7:30 PM Qualifier 2 Sharjah
60 Friday 15 Oct 2021 7:30 PM Final Dubai
Team India

SL vs IND: ‘India favourites but don’t count out Sri Lanka’ – Muralitharan

Australia beat India

Tokyo Olympics: Australia crush India 7-1 in men’s hockey pool A match