International T20 Cup: Winners, their journey and key moments from the tournament

The tournament was started in 2007

Team India
Team India (Source: Twitter)

The 2021 edition of the International T20 Cup is just weeks away. The deserts of the United Arab Emirates (UAE) will act as the battleground where this mega event will take place. Over the years, the International T20 Cup has given us several spine-tingling moments, as well as surprises, and this edition will be no different. On that note, let us take a look at the winners of each edition of the showpiece event, their journey in the tournament, as well as the key moments from each edition.

2007 – Winners (India)

The inaugural edition of the International T20 Cup was won by the MS Dhoni-led Indian side. India defeated Pakistan by just 5 runs in the summit clash to lift the title. India experienced a surreal run in the tournament. Their first match against Scotland was abandoned and their next group stage match against Pakistan ended in a tie, which India won via bowl out.

Even though India lost their next match against New Zealand, the ‘Men in Blue’ made amends by defeating England and South Africa to qualify for the semifinals. In the semifinal, India beat Australia by 15 runs, before defeating Pakistan to clinch the title.

Key moments

Yuvraj Singh scored 6 sixes in an over against England at Durban and scored 58 off just 16 deliveries. Apart from that, Chris Gayle also scored the first-ever century in T20I cricket by smashing 117 of just 57 deliveries against South Africa in the first match of the tournament.

2009 – Winners (Pakistan)

The 2009 edition was won by Pakistan. They defeated Sri Lanka in the final with 8 wickets to spare. The Pakistan side lost their opening match to England by 48 runs, and also went down to Sri Lanka by 19 runs in the league stages. The Younis Khan-led side beat Netherlands, New Zealand and Ireland in the league stage to qualify for the next round. Then, in the semifinal, Pakistan beat South Africa in a humdinger of a clash by just 7 runs, before defeating Sri Lanka in the final.

Key Moments

Ireland defeated Bangladesh in their opening match of the International T20 Cup by 6 wickets. Also, Tilakaratne Dilshan scored a sensational 96 in the semifinal against West Indies.

2010- Winners (England)

England beat Australia in the 2010 World T20 final by 7 wickets to win their maiden World Cup. England lost their opening match of the tournament to the West Indies but came back strongly and won 5 matches on the trot to lift the trophy.

Key moments

Michael Hussey’s sensational 24-ball 60* in the semifinal against Pakistan was the highlight of the tournament and helped Australia chase down a humongous target of 192 to advance to the final.

2012 -Winners (West Indies)

The West Indies won their maiden International T20 Cup trophy in 2012 by beating Sri Lanka by 36 runs in the final. The West Indies lost 2 matches to Australia and Sri Lanka but beat England and New Zealand to book a berth in the playoffs. Then, the ‘Men in Maroon’ pulverized Australia by 74 runs in the semifinal before getting the better of Sri Lanka in the summit clash.

Key Moments

Marlon Samuels scored a fantastic 78 in the final against Sri Lanka. In fact, the next highest run-scorer for West Indies was Darren Sammy, who scored 26. Samuels single-handedly helped the West Indies clinch the trophy.

2014 – Winners (Sri Lanka)

2014 was the year when Sri Lanka lifted the International T20 Cup trophy for the first and only time. The Sri Lankan side thrashed the Indian team by 6 wickets in the summit clash. Sri Lanka lost just one match in the tournament, against England in a high scoring rubber.

Sri Lanka defeated South Africa, the Netherlands and New Zealand in the league stages, before defeating West Indies by 27 runs in the semifinal.

Key Moments

Virat Kohl ended the tournament as the highest run-scorer, plundering 319 runs in 6 innings at an average of 106.33.

2016 – Winners (West Indies)

The West Indies defeated England in the final of the 2016 International T20 Cup and became the first and only team to win the title on two occasions. The West Indies suffered only one loss, against Afghanistan by 6 runs.

Other than that, the West Indies beat England, Sri Lanka, South Africa and India (in the semifinals) before defeating England to clinch the trophy.

Key Moments

With West Indies needing 19 runs off the last 6 deliveries against England in 2016 final, Carlos Brathwaite smashed 4 consecutive sixes off Ben Stokes to help his side win the trophy. 

AB de Villiers and Virat Kohli

‘You make people believe in themselves’ – AB de Villiers pays emotional tribute to Virat Kohli

Smriti Mandhana

‘MS Dhoni is not charging any honorarium for his services as team India mentor’ – Jay Shah