Indian Cricket Board’s Jay Shah announces a huge cash prize for India Women’s team after U19 Women’s 20-20 World Cup title win

Here is what Jay Shah has tweeted after the historical Under-19 20-20 World Cup triumph from India Women's team

New Update
Jay Shah and India Women's Team

Jay Shah and India Women's Team (Image Source: Twitter)

On 29 January 2023, the stage was set for India's Women’s team to win their first-ever major title in any stage of Women’s cricket. It was the final of the inaugural edition of the Under-19 Women’s 20-20 World Cup that took place in Potchefstroom. Speaking of the match, Shafali Verma won the toss and asked England to bat first.


While batting first, they got bundled out for just 68 runs. Team India managed to chase down the target with ease in just 14 overs. Thus, they managed to win the first-ever Under-19 Women’s 20-20 World Cup. After such a historical win, Indian Cricket Board’s secretary, Jay Shah came up with appreciation tweets along with a huge cash prize money for all players and support staff.

Here are the shared tweets: 


“This is a phenomenal achievement as our young cricketers have made the country proud.” - Jay Shah on India Women’s team

Speaking of those tweets, Jay Shah wrote: “Kudos to the India U19 team for winning the #U19T20WorldCup.This is a phenomenal achievement as our young cricketers have made the country proud. That the young players weren’t overawed by the big occasion speaks volumes about their steely characters and temperament.”  

He added: “I invite @TheShafaliVerma and her victorious team to join us at the Narendra Modi Stadium, Ahmedabad, and witness the third T20I on 1st February. This humongous achievement surely calls for a celebration.”

“Women’s Cricket in India is on the upswing and the World Cup triumph has taken the stature of women’s cricket several notches higher. I am delighted to announce INR 5 crore for the entire team and support staff as prize money. This is surely a path-breaking year,” Jay Shah concluded. Titas Sadhu won the player of the match award for her top bowling performance. She took two wickets for six runs in four overs. Along with her, Archana Devi, and Parshavi Chopra took two wickets each. While Mannat Kashyap, Shafali Verma, and Sonam Yadav took one wicket each.

Cricket News India Under-19 World Cup