India vs New Zealand – 1st Test – Preview, Playing XI, Live Streaming Details and updates

New Zealand have never beaten India in Test series in India

Indian team ( Image Credit: Twitter)

India are a force in their home conditions and be it any team, beating India in India is a tough nut to crack. India last lost a series at home in 2012 against England and since then they have outplayed every opposition they have played against. They have used the conditions to their advantage as well.

However, if you look at the Indian team that’s going to step on the park tomorrow, this does look a slightly vulnerable side. Their big guns Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma and KL Rahul are not part of the team. Cheteshwar Pujara and Ajinkya Rahane are not in the best of form and Shreyas Iyer will be playing his first game and will have some butterflies in his stomach. If New Zealand can get some early wickets, they can put some serious pressure on the team. 

However, the challenge for New Zealand will be to survive the Indian spinners. But among all touring teams, New Zealand have the best players to tackle the Indian spin trio. Not much need to be said about Kane Williamson, he is simply outstanding. Tom Latham is another very good player of spin, so does Ross Taylor thus the team, despite being the underdogs should not be underestimated.

Pitch Report – The match will be played at Green Park Stadium in Kanpur. The pitch will resemble any other wicket in India. It will be pretty flat, with spinners coming into play as the game progresses. 

India Probable XI : Mayank Agarwal, Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane (captain), Shreyas Iyer, Wriddhiman Saha (wk), Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Axar Patel, Umesh Yadav, Mohammed Siraj

New Zealand Probable XI : Kane Williamson (captain), Tom Latham (wk), Ross Taylor, Henry Nicholls, Tom Blundell (wk), Daryl Mitchell, Tim Southee, Neil Wagner, Kyle Jamieson, Ajaz Patel, Mitchell Santner.

India vs New Zealand Broadcast details

Match Timings – 9:30 AM IST

TV – Star Sports Network

Live Streaming – Disney + Hotstar


Bangladesh all-rounder Mahmudullah announces retirement from Test cricket

MS Dhoni

Reports: CSK retain skipper MS Dhoni for three years, KL Rahul likely to lead Lucknow in IPL 2022