India to tour England for six white-ball matches in 2022

England will play three T20Is and as many ODIs against India

Virat Kohli, Eoin Morgan
Virat Kohli, Eoin Morgan ( Image Credit: Twitter)

The England Cricket Board (ECB) has announced England’s schedule for their 2022 home summer. Virat Kohli’s India, who is currently playing a five-match Test series in England, will return to the country to play six white-ball games. England also will be hosting New Zealand and South Africa in the summer.

After an embarrassing 1-0 loss to New Zealand in July, England will seek revenge when the Kiwis tour the country for three match Test series. The series will be part of the World Test Championship and will get underway on June 2 at Lord’s.

Post the Test series, England will play three T20Is and as many ODIs against India. The T20I series will begin on July 1 at Old Trafford, followed by matches on July 3 and July 6 at Trent Bridge and Ageas Bowl respectively. The ODIs will be played on July 9, 12, 14 at Edgbaston, Oval and Lord’s respectively.

The India series will be followed by a full-fledged series against South Africa which will see teams locking horns in three ODIs, three T20Is and as many Tests. England are in trouble having lost two Test matches against India. If they lose this series, the hosts need to somehow win in home Tests against New Zealand and South Africa to keep their World Test Championship hopes alive as they have few tough tours ahead and winning there won’t be easy.

“It has been a scintillating summer of cricket and so good to see crowds back packing out venues later this summer,” ECB Chief Executive Officer, Tom Harrison, said. “For next summer, I am pleased to be able to confirm three high-quality men’s international touring teams for 2022, starting with a three-Test LV= Insurance Series against World Test Champions New Zealand.

“We also look forward to India returning for two white-ball series before we host South Africa for what promises to be hard-fought series across three formats”

2022 England Men’s home schedule

Series against New Zealand

1st Test, Lord’s – June 2-6

2nd Test, Trent Bridge – June 10-14

3rd Test, Emerald Headingley – June 23-27

Series against India

1st T20, Emirates Old Trafford – July 1

2nd T20, Trent Bridge – July 3

3rd T20, The Ageas Bowl – July 6

1st ODI, Edgbaston – July 9

2nd ODI, Kia Oval – July 12

3rd ODI, Lord’s – July 14

Series against South Africa

1st ODI, Emirates Riverside – July 19

2nd ODI, Emirates Old Trafford – July 22

3rd ODI, Emerald Headingley – July 24

1st T20, Bristol – July 27

2nd T20, Sophia Gardens – July 28

3rd T20, The Ageas Bowl – July 31

1st Test, Lord’s – August 17-21

2nd Test, Edgbaston – August 25-29

3rd Test, The Oval – September 8-12)

Shardul Thakur

Shardul Thakur, Ollie Pope make notable gains in ICC Test rankings

Steve Smith

CA optimistic about staging Ashes in presence of full crowd