‘India has been a top side, WTC final going to be tough’ – Ross Taylor

Taylor pointed out that Indian bowling will pose a stern challenge in English conditions.

Ross Taylor
(Image Credit Twitter)

The World Test Championship final is just a couple of days away and fans are eagerly waiting for a staggering contest between the two best teams in the world. Despite reaching the playoffs on many occasions, Virat Kohli has been deprived of an ICC trophy. Kane Williamson’s New Zealand, on the other hand, are searching for their first ICC trophy so there is a lot at stake. On Tuesday, both India and New Zealand announced their 15 member squad for the final. Ahead of the marquee clash, New Zealand veteran Ross Taylor, citing the example of India’s win in Australia, said that Kohli’s team is a formidable side and will be a very tough opponent.

“India has been a fantastic side for a long period, their series win against Australia during the opponent’s home summer was great to watch. We saw world-class Indian bowling against a top-quality Australian side. They got success in England as well,” said Taylor.

The 37-year-old Taylor further pointed out the challenges of playing against a quality bowling lineup  of India. India has one of the most lethal bowling attacks in the world. The likes of Mohammad Shami, Jasprit Bumrah and Ishant Sharma have a phenomenal record in England. Also, Mohammed Siraj has grown leaps and bounds. In the spin department, India have two quality bowlers in Ravichandran Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja. 

“We know the match will be very tough for us because when you go through the Indian line-up, they have top quality players in all departments, and have been the world number side for a longer period of time. We play them at home, away or at a neutral venue they will challenge us every time,” Taylor added. 

The ICC World Test Championship final will be played from 18-22 June in Southampton. India announced their WTC squad yesterday and surprisingly left out Mayank Agarwal and KL Rahul, confirming Shubman Gill and Rohit Sharma as openers.

India squad: Virat Kohli (C), Ajinkya Rahane (VC), Rohit Sharma, Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant, Wriddhiman Saha, Ravichandran Ashwin. Ravindra Jadeja. Jasprit Bumrah, Ishant Sharma, Mohammad Shami, Umesh Yadav, Mohammad Siraj

New Zealand squad: Kane Williamson (c), Tom Blundell, Trent Boult, Devon Conway, Colin de Grandhomme, Matt Henry, Kyle Jamieson, Tom Latham, Henry Nicholls, Ajaz Patel, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor, Neil Wagner, BJ Watling, Will Young 

Quetta Gladiators

PSL 6: Multan Sultans vs Quetta Gladiators – Match 25 – Preview, Playing XI, Pitch Report & Updates

Euro 2020

Euro 2020: Day 6 Schedule, Match Preview, Head to Head Stats, Timings & Venue Details