India crush New Zealand with a 73 run win, seal series 3-0

This was India’s eighth consecutive T20I win over New Zealand in bilateral series.

Kl Rahul
Kl Rahul (Image Credit: Twitter)

New Zealand have hurt India badly in global events but when it comes to bilateral series, India have dominated the Kiwis. Despite already winning the series, India were very much determined in the dead rubber and defeated New Zealand by 73 runs. A lot was said about dew being the factor but India showed that if you have the skills, no one can stop you from achieving your goal.

India won the toss and opted to bat. Rohit Sharma and Ishan Kishan got India off to a blazing start. The duo added 69 runs in the powerplay before Kishan departed. Suryakumar Yadav and Rishab Pant got out cheaply as well but Rohit looked in sublime form. He was eventually dismissed for 56. His wicket put the brakes on India’s scoring rate as Shreyas Iyer and Venkatesh Iyer struggled to get going. However, two all-rounders, Harshal Patel and Deepak Chahar played brisk knocks of 18 and 21 to help India post a challenging 184 – 7.

New Zealand needed a good start to chase this big score. However, barring Martin Guptill, who scored 51, other batters had no clue about India’s bowlers. Only two batters – Tim Seifert and Lockie Ferguson could go past the double figures as New Zealand succumbed to the crushing defeat. They were bowled out for a mere 111. The win also gave India a clean sweep over the Blackcaps. This was India’s eighth consecutive T20I win over New Zealand in bilateral series. The team had beaten New Zealand 5-0 in their backyard. Harshal Patel carried on his good show with the ball and picked two wickets. However, the damage was done by Axar Patel, who took 3-9 in 3 overs

Babar Azam

Babar Azam answers the most googled questions about him

Paul Stirling

Abu Dhabi T10 League: Bangla Tigers get on board; Abu Dhabi, Delhi Bulls continue their juggernaut