IND vs NZ: Rohit Sharma breaks one record after another in a thrilling series

Rohit Sharma became the third Indian captain to bag the Player of the Series award

Rohit Sharma and KL Rahul
Rohit Sharma and KL Rahul (Source: Twitter)

India put on their dismal outing in the 20-20 World Cup behind them and whitewashed New Zealand in a three-match T20I series. Skipper Rohit Sharma had a wonderful start to his captaincy stint. The 34-year-old scored 59 runs in three games to bag the Player of the Series award. He thus became the third Indian captain after Suresh Raina in 2010, and Virat Kohli in 2017, 2019, 2021 to bag the Man of the Series award.

Rohit Sharma also scored 56 in the final T20I in Kolkata and now has the most fifties in T20Is. He also has six fifty-plus scores against New Zealand, the most by any player. He is currently only behind Virat Kohli and David Warner, who have 7 and 6 fifties against Australia and Sri Lanka respectively, in the list of most fifties against an opposition.

The home team’s 3-0 emphatic win over New Zealand was the third instance of India winning a three-match T20I series 3-0 at home. All three victories have come under Rohit Sharma’s captaincy. The remaining two have come against Sri Lanka in 2017 and West Indies in 2018.

Rohit Sharma also scored his 30th half century in the T20Is, which is the most for a batter in the format. Rohit also scored his 25th half-century as an opener and sits comfortably at the helm. Following Rohit are Martin Guptill and David Warner, who have 23 and 22 fifties respectively.

Rohit will look to continue his form in the Test series which gets underway on November 25 in Kanpur. Senior New Zealand players will be back for the series thus expect the Kiwis to be far more competitive.

Dwayne Bravo and Nicolas Pooran

Abu Dhabi T10 league: Bizarre blunder forces Delhi Bulls to play Romario Shepherd against Chennai Braves

Deccan Gladiators

Abu Dhabi T10: Deccan Gladiators halt Delhi Bulls’ juggernaut, Team Abu Dhabi unstoppable