How can India, England and Australia qualify for the WTC final?

Sky247 Staff
Updated On
New Update
India Team

India Team ( Image Credit: Twitter)

They were down and out after the crushing defeat in the 1st Test but a class side like India knows how to bounce back in style. They defeated England in the 2nd Test by 317 runs to level the series 1-1. It's a significant win, not only in context of the Test series but for the World Test Championship as well.


One of India, England or Australia will join New Zealand for the summit clash of the WTC at Lords in June 2021. Let us look at the qualification scenarios for the three teams in contention. 

India - India are the prime contender to play the finals. They are playing at home and there is every chance that they’ll beat England in the series. They did lose the first Test but bounced back in style to thrash the visitors by 317 runs in the second match. The need a 2-1 or 3-1 win to qualify. 

England - England’s chances of making it through to the finals look grim as they need to win both their upcoming matches against India to qualify. Now that’s a massive ask considering India’s dominant record at home. 

Australia - Australia too have an outside chance of making it to the summit clash. They dented their chances after postponing the scheduled Test series in South Africa and now rest their hopes on the result of the India-England series. If England can beat India 2-1 or the series ends in a draw, Tim Paine’s men will join New Zealand in the final. 

Cricket News International