in

England announce expanded tour of the West Indies in early 2022

England

The England and Wales Cricket Board have announced the expanded scheduled for the England tour of West Indies. England were initially scheduled to play three T20Is in the Caribbean but now, two more games have been added in the series that’ll take place in January 2022. England will return to the country again in March to play three Tests. The West Indies Cricket Board President Ricky Skerritt was pleased with the development and credited the strong bond between the two boards as the reason behind the expanded tour.

“This expansion of next year’s England tour to the Caribbean is welcomed news for West Indies Cricket and for the region’s tourism economy. It has come about because of the special relationship that has been developed between our respective boards and we are looking forward to working with ECB Chair Ian Watmore, and CEO Tom Harrison, to expand our partnership even further into new areas of cooperation and support,” Skerritt said.

In 2020, when most of the cricketing activities were suspended, West Indies lent ECB a helping hand and toured the country for a Test tour. ECB Chairman, Ian Watmore appreciated the CWI for their support during the tough times and said that they’ll provide all necessary support to the West Indies cricket board in moving forward.

“We hugely appreciated the support of Cricket West Indies, and all its men’s and women’s players, in helping us host a full season of international cricket in the summer of 2020. Following the conclusion of those tours to England we have been in discussions with CWI to understand how we can best support them moving forward and one way was to extend our existing England men’s tours to the Caribbean in 2022,” Ian Watmore said.

England tour of West Indies full schedule

Friday, January 28: 1st T20 International

Sunday, January 30: 2nd T20 International

Wednesday, February 2: 3rd T20 International

Friday, February 4: 4th T20 International

Saturday, February 5: 5th T20 International

Tuesday, March 1 to Friday, March 4: warm-up match

Tuesday, March 8 to Saturday, March 12: 1st Test Match

Wednesday, March 16 to Saturday, March 20: 2nd Test Match

Thursday, March 24 to Monday, March 28: 3rd Test Match

D T0

Emirates D10 League 2021 – Day one – Round Up

India

India to play Pakistan in a short T20I series – Reports