England announce preliminary squad for T20 World Cup

Jofra Archer and Ben Stokes have not been included

England ODI team
England ODI team ( Image Credit: Twitter)

England have announced the 15-man preliminary squad for the T20 World Cup. It must be noted this is not the final squad and the board can make changes to it before October 10. The squad features all the limited over stalwarts.

Sussex fast bowler Tymal Mills is back in the squad for the first time since February 2017 owing to his brilliant outings in the Vitality T20 blast and ‘The Hundred’. Wicket-keeper batters Jos Buttler and Jonny Bairstow, as expected, have been included as well.  Meanwhile, Dawid Malan, the No 1 batter in T20Is also finds a place while Moeen Ali will provide a good spin bowling all-around option to England. 

Jofra Archer has not been included as he continues to recover from the elbow injury. Meanwhile, Ben Stokes, who has taken an indefinite break from all forms of cricket, has not returned as well. Stokes can still make it to the squad if he wills but he will have to convey his decision before the cut-off date of October 10.

Adil Rashid is the only specialist spinner in the team. David Willey, Sam Curran, Mark Wood, Chris Jordan and Chris Woakes are the fast bowling all-rounders England have gone in with. Tom Curran, Liam Dawson and James Vince will travel with the team as reserves.

England Men’s Head Coach, Chris Silverwood, said: “We are excited about the prospect of challenging to win the ICC T20 World Cup. I believe we have selected a squad that covers all bases and has the depth to be successful in what is expected to be a very competitive tournament featuring the best players in the world.

England squad for T20 World Cup: Eoin Morgan (c), Moeen Ali, Jonny Bairstow, Sam Billings, Jos Buttler, Sam Curran, Chris Jordan, Liam Livingstone, Dawid Malan, Tymal Mills, Adil Rashid, Jason Roy, David Willey, Chris Woakes, Mark Wood

Sri Lanka

Sri Lanka to play two T20s against Oman before T20 World Cup

South Africa

South Africa name 15-man squad for T20 World Cup; Faf Du Plessis, Chris Morris left out