Cricket Australia announce Ashes schedule

The marquee five match Test series will get underway on December 08 in Brisbane

Australia Team
Australia (Image Credit: Twitter)

Cricket Australia has announced the schedule for the upcoming Ashes series. The board is also hopeful of staging the event in front of full crowds but added that they will abide by the government rules regarding allowing the spectators in the stadiums.

The marquee five match Test series will get underway on December 08 in Brisbane before the teams move to Adelaide for a Day-Night encounter. The traditional Boxing Day Test will be played at the Melbourne Cricket Ground. The fourth Test will be played in Sydney while the series will conclude at Perth’s Optus Stadium. At the moment, non-essential travel to Australia from the UK is not allowed due to COVID-19.

“The lessons learned from successfully delivering a safe summer in 20-21 gives us confidence on what we’re able to achieve, and we’re all hoping for a summer of full crowds and an Ashes atmosphere we’re all accustomed to,” said Nick Hockley, Cricket Australia’s interim chief executive.

“In a perfect world, we would welcome England fans back to these shores for a summer of singing and sportsmanship. Of course, we will be guided by the Australian Government on all things related to international travel.”

Meanwhile, England women will kick off their Australian campaign with a one-off Test from January 27 which will be followed by three T20Is and three ODIs.

“2022 is going to be an amazing year for women’s cricket,” said England and Wales Cricket Board chief executive Tom Harrison. 

“With an Ashes, a World Cup in New Zealand and a home Commonwealth Games in Birmingham, this could be a landmark year for our team.”

Australia currently hold the Ashes following their 2-2 draw in England in 2019.


Men’s Ashes 2021/22

Dec 8-12: 1st Test, Gabba, Brisbane

Dec 16-20: 2nd Test, Adelaide Oval, Adelaide (day/night)

Dec 26-30: 3rd Test, Melbourne Cricket Ground, Melbourne

Jan 5-9: 4th Test, Sydney Cricket Ground, Sydney

Jan 14-18: 5th Test, Optus Stadium, Perth

Women’s Ashes

Jan 27-30: Test, Manuka Oval, Canberra

Feb 4: 1st T20I, North Sydney Oval, Sydney

Feb 6: 2nd T20I, North Sydney Oval

Feb 10: 3rd T20I, Adelaide Oval

Feb 13: 1st ODI, Adelaide Oval

Feb 16: 2nd ODI, Junction Oval, Melbourne

Feb 19: 3rd ODI, Junction Oval, Melbourne

Mirabai Chanu

2021 Tokyo Olympics: I have learned everything from Rio Olympics experience – Mirabai Chanu

Babar Azam

PCB yet to confirm Abu Dhabi as the host for remainder of PSL-6