‘Chhal….Chhal hua hai mere saath’ – Fans shower sympathy for Mayank Agarwal as he gets released from Punjab ahead of Indian T20 League 2023

The 31-year-old Karnataka batter could score only 196 runs in 13 games he played during the last season.

The Punjab-based franchise of the Indian T20 League has released their former skipper and senior batter Mayank Agarwal before the commencement of the min-auction for the next season of the tournament. Notably, the Indian cricket Board will host the mini-auction for the 16th edition of the Indian T20 League later this year in December.

Coming back to Mayank Agarwal, he couldn’t deliver up to the expectations in the 2022 edition of the league. He also came to bat after Jonny Bairstow in the batting order. The 31-year-old batter could score only 196 runs in the 13 games he appeared in the last edition. Meanwhile, Agarwal has also gone through a poor run of form with the bat in the domestic campaign for Karnataka.

Following Mayank Agarwal’s release from Punjab, the fans have also come up with multiple reactions. Some of the cricket fans showered their empathy for the Karnataka batter whereas the others speculated the names of the possible who might count on the latter in the next season.

Here’s how fans reacted as Punjab released their former captain Mayank Agarwal:

After releasing Mayank Agarwal from the squad, Punjab has freed up INR 12 crore more in their purse. It has also come up as a chance for the other teams to pick the Indian opener for the next season of the cash-rich Indian league.

Speaking of the players who have been retained by Punjab, they have retained young Indian bowling sensation Arshdeep Singh alongside senior South African pacer Kagiso Rabada. Some other big names who will be seen in Punjab colors once again are skipper Shikhar Dhawan alongside veteran England batters, Liam Livingstone and Jonny Bairstow.

Here’s a look at players released and retained by Punjab ahead of the auction for the 2023 edition:

Retained players: Shikhar Dhawan (c), Shahrukh Khan, Jonny Bairstow, Prabhsimran Singh, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Jitesh Sharma, Raj Bawa, Rishi Dhawan, Liam Livingstone, Atharva Taide, Arshdeep Singh, Baltej Singh, Nathan Ellis, Kagiso Rabada, Rahul Chahar, Harpreet Brar.

Released players: Mayank Agarwal, Odean Smith, Vaibhav Arora, Benny Howell, Ishan Porel, Ansh Patel, Prerak Mankad, Sandeep Sharma, Writtick Chatterjee.

Kane Williamson

Kane Williamson pens down a heartfelt note after being released by Hyderabad


‘Ab Williamson ko nikaal hi diya hai to warner ko wapas le aate hain na’ – Social media floods with memes as Hyderabad make some major changes