‘Bhuvi ka unofficial retirement hogaya kya!’ – Jaydev Unadkat receives ODI call-up for Australia series, fans left shocked

Huge opportunity awaits Jaydev Unadkat in the 50-over World Cup year.

Jaydev Unadkat
Jaydev Unadkat (Image Source: Twitter)

Team India are currently busy playing the ongoing Border-Gavaskar Trophy against Australia. After this series, they will play a three-match ODI series at home against the Aussies. Now, on 19 February 2023, the Men in Blue gained an unassailable 2-0 lead over the visitors in the Test series. 

On the same day, the Indian Cricket Board announced the squads for the last two Tests and the ODI series. But, fans were left shocked as Jaydev Unadkat receives a comeback call in the ODI format after 10 years. Jaydev Unadkat last played an ODI match for India against West Indies at Kochi on 21 November 2013. 

Surprising ODI call-up for Jaydev Unadkat for the upcoming ODI series against the Aussies

Speaking of his ODI career, Jaydev Unadkat has played seven matches so far for the Men in Blue. In those matches, he has taken eight wickets at an economy of 4.01. So, it will be a huge opportunity for the pacer. However, he recently made a comeback in the longest format of the game after 12 years. Unadkat replaced the injured Mohammed Shami in the Test series in Bangladesh. He played in one match and took three wickets. However, he did not play the first Test against the Aussies in the ongoing Border-Gavaskar Trophy. 

Before the second Test, he got released as Jaydev Unadkat played for Saurashtra and made them Ranji Trophy champions once again. In the final against Bengal, he took nine wickets. However, some fans found it shocking to see him in the white-ball format squad. Some fans also claimed that the board might have confirmed Bhuvneshwar Kumar’s unofficial retirement by this announcement. They even considered Unadkat over the young pacer Arshdeep Singh. 

India’s squad for the ODI series against Australia: Rohit Sharma (C), S Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, KL Rahul, Ishan Kishan (wk), Hardik Pandya (VC), R Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, W Sundar, Y Chahal, Mohd Shami, Mohd Siraj, Umran Malik, Shardul Thakur, Axar Patel, and Jaydev Unadkat.

Here are some tweets that fans have shared over the inclusion of Jaydev Unadkat in the ODI series against Australia:


Rohit Sharma

‘Ritika ki dusri Shaadi hai kya!’ – Rohit Sharma to miss 1st ODI against Australia, Hardik Pandya to lead

Conor McGregor

Conor McGregor set to remove TUF 31 contestants to make room for his own ‘hand-picked fighters’