BCCI scraps Ranji Trophy for 2020-21 domestic season

Jay Shah and Sourav Ganguly ( Image Credit: Twitter)

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has decided to go ahead with the 50-over tournament, Vijay Hazare Trophy for the ongoing domestic season. The board had asked the state associations for their opinion over playing only one of VHT and Ranji Trophy and it seems that they weren’t in favour of playing red-ball cricket.

Moreover, with only a couple of months to go for the 14th edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL), the window to organise Ranji Trophy was very short for the BCCI. According to Cricbuzz, the BCCI secretary Jay Shah wrote a letter to the state associations mentioning that the schedule for the Vijay Hazare Trophy will be revealed soon.

The Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 Trophy has been successfully organised by the board with the final set to be played on January 31. Meanwhile, a 50-over Women’s domestic tournament is also set to take place alongside the Vinoo Mankad U19 trophy.

“It was extremely important for us to ensure that women’s cricket takes place and I am extremely happy to inform you that we are going to conduct the senior women’s one-day tournament simultaneously with the Vijay Hazare Trophy and follow it up with the Vinoo Mankad Under-19 Trophy. This has been decided after having received your feedback on the domestic season 2020-21,” Shah wrote in his letter.

Kangaroo Cake

Ajinkya Rahane opens up on not cutting cake with Kangaroo on it

Imtiaz Ahmed

All you need to know about Deccan Gladiators pacer Imtiaz Ahmed