BCCI name 18-member squad for South Africa ODIs, KL Rahul to lead

BCCI, on December 30, announced India’s 18-member squad for the three-match ODI series against South Africa

Sam Abraham
New Update

India ( Image Credit: Twitter)

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI), on December 30, announced India’s 18-member squad for the three-match ODI series against South Africa, starting from January 19. The team is currently playing a three-match Test series, having taken a 1-0 lead after winning in Centurion by 113 runs.


Meanwhile, the squad will be led by KL Rahil after Rohit Sharma failed to reach full fitness, having injured his hamstring in the lead-up to the Test series. Pacer Jasprit Bumrah has been named Rahul’s deputy. The squad includes off-spinner R Ashwin, who has been picked for the 50-over format for the first time ever since 2017.

Venkatesh Iyer, who had a brilliant Vijay Hazare Trophy 2021, has been rewarded with maiden ODI call-up, while Ruturaj Gaikwad, who made his debut 50-over debut earlier this year against Sri Lanka, has also been named. Senior batter Shikhar Dhawan, who led the team in Sri Lanka has come back as well, after not being picked for neither the New Zealand series at home nor the South Africa Tests.

Meanwhile, senior pacer Bhuvneshwar Kumar has been named alongside youngsters Mohammed Siraj and Prasidh Krishna, while spinner Washington Sundar is set to come back after his finger injury that ruled him out before the England Test series. Yuzvendra Chahal is the other spinner alongside him, while two wicketkeepers in Rishabh Pant and Ishan Kishan have been included.


The ODIs will not be counted towards the ICC ODI World Cup Super League and will be played as a standalone event instead. The series kickstarts on January 19 in Paarl, which will also host the second ODI on January 21 before the final one in Cape Town on January 23.

India squad for South Africa ODIs

KL Rahul (Capt), Shikhar Dhawan, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Virat Kohli, Surya Kumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, Venkatesh Iyer, Rishabh Pant (wk), Ishan Kishan (wk), Y Chahal, R Ashwin, W Sundar, J Bumrah (VC), Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Deepak Chahar, Prasidh Krishna, Shardul Thakur, Mohd. Siraj

Cricket News India