BCCI announces schedule for the Indian Premier League 2021

Sky247 Staff
Mar 07, 2021 08:07 IST
New Update
IPL Trophy

IPL Trophy (Image Credit ( BCCI/IPL)

The IPL Governing Council has announced the schedule for the 2021 edition of the Indian Premier League. The season will kick off on 9th April, 2021 with Mumbai Indians taking on Royal Challengers Bangalore in Chennai.  A total of 6 venues will host the 60 matches of the cricketing extravaganza. The newly built Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmadabad will host the playoffs and the final of the marquee event.


 Each team will play at four venues in the league stages. Mumbai, Bangalore Chennai and Kolkata will host 10 matches while the Delhi and Ahmedabad will host 8 matches. The schedule is such that every team will travel only three times in the league stages. Also, no team will play any of their game in their home conditions.

Out of the 56 league games, 11 will be double headers with 6 teams playing three afternoon matches while two teams playing 2 afternoon matches. The afternoon games will start at 3:30 PM while the evening games will begin at 7:30 PM IST. Also, the IPL governing council has decided to hold the tournament behind closed door. However, they may take a call on allowing the fans in the later stages of the tournament

 The previous edition of the IPL will moved out of India and was played in UAE. The BCCI, however, was keen on organizing the next season in India.

You can refer the link for the full schedule

#Cricket News #International