BCCI announce squad for T20I series against New Zealand; Kohli rested, Rohit Sharma to lead

The series gets underway on November 17

India ( Image Credit: Twitter)

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) have announced the squad for the T20I series against New Zealand. The teams are set to cross swords in three T20Is. New Zealand will also play two Tests on the tour – the squad of which will be announced in due course. 

Senior players Virat Kohli, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammad Shami have been rested from the series. Rohit Sharma has been named the skipper of the side, while KL Rahul will be his deputy. Meanwhile, spinners Rahul Chahar and Varun Chakravarthy, who were part of the 20-20 World Cup squad, have been dropped, while Yuzvendra Chahal has returned to the team.

All-rounder Venkatesh Iyer has reaped the rewards of a stellar IPL and has been selected in the squad. Meanwhile, Shreyas Iyer has also returned to the team following his recovery from the shoulder injury. Pacer Bhuvneshwar Kumar has managed to retain his place in the squad. Deepak Chahar, Avesh Khan, Harshal Patel and Mohammed Siraj are the other pace bowling options in the squad.

The series gets underway on November 17 in Jaipur, followed by matches on November 19 and 21 in Ranchi and Kolkata respectively.

The selection committee also picked the squad for India A tour of South Africa. The team will play three four day matches on the tour.

India’s T20I squad: Rohit Sharma (Captain), KL Rahul (Vice-Captain), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Ishan Kishan (wicket-keeper), Venkatesh Iyer, Yuzvendra Chahal, R Ashwin, Axar Patel, Avesh Khan, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Deepak Chahar, Harshal Patel, Mohd. Siraj

India ‘A’ squad for South Africa tour: Priyank Panchal (Captain), Prithvi Shaw, Abhimanyu Easwaran, Devdutt Padikkal, Sarfaraz Khan, Baba Aparajith, Upendra Yadav (wicket-keeper), K Gowtham, Rahul Chahar, Saurabh Kumar, Navdeep Saini, Umran Malik, Ishan Porel, Arzan Nagwaswalla

Rishabh Pant

Rishabh Pant’s heartwarming gesture earns him appreciation from all quarters

Rohit Sharma

‘Next Year 20-20 WC Will Be Coming Home’ : Fans react as Rohit Sharma named India captain for T20Is