Bangladesh name Commonwealth Games Qualifiers squad, no place for Jahanara Alam

As per reports, the pacer has been dropped due to disciplinary reasons

Jaipur Cricket Stadium
Jaipur Cricket Stadium ( Image Credit: Twitter)

Pacer Jahanara Alam has been left out from the squad of the Bangladesh national women’s team for the Commonwealth Games Qualifier 2022 to be held in Malaysia. Nigar Sultana is to replace Salma Khatun as the skipper. The squad was announced on Thursday (7th January) for the qualifiers to begin on the 18th of January.

As per reports, the pacer has been dropped due to some disciplinary reasons following misbehavior with the team management during the ICC Women’s World Cup Qualifiers in Zimbabwe. Alam is Bangladesh’s fourth-highest wicket-taker, in the shortest format, with 55 wickets in 71 matches.

The former Bangladesh skipper Salam Khatun is also a part of the squad but will not lead the side. She is one of the finest all-rounders to come out of the country, with her off-spin dominating the figures. Khatun has 66 wickets against her name from 74 matches at an average of 17.4 in T20I’s.

“We have a balanced squad for this competition, and players have been picked according to some specific criteria we have set. I think this event is also a good stage to give opportunities to some emerging talent as we need to plan for the future as well,” Bangladesh women’s selector Monjurul Islam was quoted as saying by Cricbuzz.

The team is set to leave for Malaysia on January 8 for the five-team tournament. The other participating teams are Sri Lanka, Malaysia, Kenya, and Scotland. Bangladesh begin their campaign against Kenyaon January 18.

The winner of the qualifier will join seven other teams in the 22nd Commonwealth Games, scheduled in July- August 2022.

Bangladesh Squad:

Nigar Sultana Joty (Captain), Rumana Ahmed, Salma Khatun, Fargana Hoque Pinky, Shamima Sultana, Fahima Khatun, Ritu Moni, Murshida Khatun, Nahida Akter, Sharmin Akter Supta, Lata Mondol, Sobhana Mostary, Fariha Islam Trisna, Shanjida Akther Maghla, Suraiya Azmim

Stand by: Jahanara Alam, Nuzhat Tasnia, Khadiza-Tul Kubra

Shardul Thakur

Shardul Thakur got angry when he didn’t get enough batting time in CSK nets: Imran Tahir

Virat Kohli and Keiron Pollard

‘No communication from BCCI but we’re ready’: CWI chief Ricky Skerritt on playing India series in lesser venues