Bangladesh announce squad for New Zealand T20Is

Leg spinner Aminul Islam has also been included in the squad

Bangladesh ( Image Credit: Twitter)

Bangladesh have announced the 19-man squad for the upcoming series against New Zealand. The Tigers will host New Zealand for a five-match T20I series that gets underway on September 1. Wicketkeeper-batsman Mushfiqur Rahim, who missed the recent series against Australia has returned to the side. The hosts’ confidence will be skyrocketing after a crushing 4-1 win over Australia. 

Bangladesh is one of the eight teams that will have to go through a qualifying round to feature in the Super 12s. The series against New Zealand will be the final opportunity for Bangladesh to fix their jigsaw before the T20 World Cup.

Coming back to the squad, the team is pretty much the same that defeated Australia. Despite Rahim’s return, other wicketkeeping options, Liton Das and Nurul Hasan have been retained in the squad. Among the new additions, leg spinner Aminul Islam has been recalled. Islam made his debut for Bangladesh in 2019 and has picked up 10 wickets in the seven T20Is so far.

The visitors, on the other hand, will have an uphill task of getting past Bangladesh. A lot of Kiwi players will be part of the IPL thus a second-string squad has been named for the Bangladesh tour. 

Bangladesh T20I squad for NZ series: Mahmudullah (C), Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim, Soumya Sarkar, Liton Das, Mosaddek Hossain, Afif Hossain, Mohammad Naim, Nurul Hasan, Shamim Hossain, Rubel Hossain, Mustafizur Rahman, Taskin Ahmed, Mohammad Saifuddin, Shoriful Islam, Taijul Islam, Mahedi Hasan, Aminul Islam, Nasum Ahmed.

Shoaib Malik

Babar Azam calls for Shoaib Malik’s inclusion in T20I squad – Reports

Taliban at ACB headquarters

Ex cricketer Abdullah Mazari accompanies Taliban at ACB headquarters