‘Bakwaas choice hai’ - Fans react as VVS Laxman reportedly to be Team India’s head coach for Ireland tour and Asian Games 2023

Here is what fans have reacted as VVS Laxman is reportedly to become Team India's coach for the upcoming Ireland tour and Asian Games 2023

Updated On
New Update
VVS Laxman to coach Team India

VVS Laxman to coach Team India (Image Source: Twitter)

Team India are currently busy playing the ongoing two-match Test series in West Indies. Followed by this, they will play a three-match ODI series and a five-match T20I series. After that, they will play a three-match T20I series in Ireland. Now, reports have come out that VVS Laxman is going to replace head coach Rahul Dravid for that tour.


As per recent reports, Rahul Dravid along with batting coach Vikram Rathour, bowling coach Paras Mhambrey and fielding coach T Dilip will be given a rest to get fully freshened up for the Asia Cup. That tournament is going to begin on 31 August. However, during the IPL 2023, all of them were on rest. 

VVS Laxman has previous experience of coaching Team India

According to reports, again they will be given a rest and instead of them, the National Cricket Academy (NCA) chief, VVS Laxman will travel with the team as the interim head coach. The series is all set to happen from 18 to 23 August. However, last year also when India visited to play the two-match T20I series in Ireland, Laxman was the interim coach as Rahul Dravid and Co. were given a rest. After India’s 20-20 World Cup exit in 2022, they had a T20I series in New Zealand.


Laxman was the head coach in that series. Not only this series, but Laxman is also reportedly to coach the team in the upcoming Asian Games 2023 in China. The tournament is all set to happen in Hangzhou, the People's Republic of China from 23 September to 8 October. The event is going to happen in a 20-20 format as all the matches will be played at the Zhejiang University of Technology Pingfeng Cricket Field.  

Team India (Senior Men) squad for 19th Asian Games: Ruturaj Gaikwad (Captain), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Rahul Tripathi, Tilak Varma, Rinku Singh, Jitesh Sharma (wk), Washington Sundar, Shahbaz Ahmed, Ravi Bishnoi, Avesh Khan, Arshdeep Singh, Mukesh Kumar, Shivam Mavi, Shivam Dube, Prabhsimran Singh (wk) 

Standby list of players: Yash Thakur, Sai Kishore, Venkatesh Iyer, Deepak Hooda, Sai Sudarsan

Here is how fans have reacted:


Cricket News India featured Twitter Reactions Asian games 2023