Afghanistan penalized for deliberately conceding a boundary

Sky247 Staff
Mar 13, 2021 11:48 IST
New Update

Afghanistan ( Image Credit: Twitter)

In a bizarre incident, Afghanistan were penalized for deliberately conceding a boundary to keep the tailender on strike. The incident took place in the 91st over of Zimbabwe’s 1st inning of the second Test. Sikander Raza was facing Sayed Shirzad, who didn’t allowed Raza to score runs on the first five balls.


On the final ball of the over, Raza played a shot through covers. The fielder chased the ball and intentionally conceded four to keep Blessing Muzarabani on strike. This was against the spirit of the game and umpires after a brief chat awarded five runs to Zimbabwe. Moreover, they allowed Raza to keep strike in the next over.

Batting first, Afghanistan, on the back of a magnificent double hundred from Hashmatuallah Shahidi and a brilliant 164 from Asghar Afghan posted a mammoth 545-4 in their first inning. In reply, Zimbabwe could only manage 287 in their first inning. Rashid Khan was the pick of the bowlers and accounted for 4 wickets. Afghanistan enforced the follow on and have reduced Zimbabwe to 266-7 at stumps on Day 4.

Sean Williams is batting at 106 while Donald Tiripano has supported him well with his unbeaten 63. The duo has added 124 runs for the 8th wicket in around 43 overs. Once again, it was Rashid Khan who became the nemesis of the Zimbabwe batsmen and picked up 5 of the 7 wickets to fall. Afghanistan needs to win this match to level the series. They were thumped by Zimbabwe in a crushing 10 wicket loss in the first match

#Cricket News #International