Abu Dhabi T10: Day 11 Review: Deccan Gladiator boost hopes of playoffs, Bulls stay in the hunt

Gladiators and Bulls beat Northern Warriors and Tigers respectively

Imtiaz Ahmed
Imtiaz Ahmed (Image Credit: Twitter)

Two matches were played on Day 11 of the ongoing Abu Dhabi T10 league. Deccan Gladiators and Northern Warriors were up against each other in the first match. The former held their nerve better and emerged victorious by 19 runs. Batting first, the Gladiators posted a commanding 134 in their allotted 10 overs. Wicketkeeper batter Tom Moores top-scored with 39 and Odean Smith finished the innings with blistering 33 runs off just 11 balls.

.In reply, Northern Warriors’ top four batters Kennar Smith, Moeen Ali Rovman Powell, and Ross Whitely all managed to reach the 20s but none could play that defining knock.

Gladiators’ Wahab Riaz bowled exceptionally well and picked one wicket for 13 runs. His two economic overs proved to be the difference in the end.

In the second game of the day, Bangla Tigers and Delhi Bulls crossed swords, with the latter emerging victorious by 12 runs. Bulls posted 110 runs in 60 balls, with Eoin Morgan top-scoring with 35 runs. The bulls lost three early wickets that of Gurbaz, Luke Wright, and Sherfane Rutherford for just 13, 11, and 3 respectively. Morgan dropped anchor and paced his innings well. He took calculative risks and helped the Bulls reach a competitive total of 100 in the end.

Tigers struggled in the run-chase as they lost three batters for zero runs. Skipper Faf du Plessis tried to bat through the innings, but in the end, he managed just 26 runs. Bulls’ bowlers led by Dominic Drakes were exceptional and kept chipping away with regular wickets. Drakes four wickets helped earn Bulls earn two valuable points.

This timely victory by the Bulls allows them in contention for the playoffs. They are currently placed fourth on the points table with 10 points. Meanwhile, Gladiators are second with 12 points from nine matches.

IND vs NZ: 1st Test, Review – New Zealand hold on to a stunning draw courtesy Rachin and Ajaz

Lionel Messi

Lionel Messi wins Ballon d’Or for seventh time, Alexia Putellas claims women’s title