5. First-ever overseas victory in 1968

India’s first-ever overseas victory came in the year 1968 when they toured New Zealand. The Indian team went on to win the series 3-1 and it still remains to be one of the most successful overseas tours of all time for team India.

4. The evergreen World Cup win in 1983

The team led by Kapil Dev won the 60-over World Cup for the first time in the year 1983 and it set the tone for India’s future. India went on defeat two-time champions West Indies in the finals and the scenes still remain afresh in every Indian’s memory.

3. The beginning of a new era in 2007

The 2007 20-20 World Cup win turned out to be the beginning of a new era for the Indian team. Led by a new captain, MS Dhoni, India went on to defeat Pakistan in the finals by just 5 runs. However, it is still considered to be the turning point of Indian cricket post the Sourav Ganguly era.

2. History scripted again in 2011 after 28 years

The 2011 World Cup is one of the biggest achievements in Indian cricket history and more likely it is because of the early exit in the 50-over World Cup 2007.

1. The Gabba Breach in 2021

After winning the Border-Gavaskar trophy when they toured Australia in 2018/19, India went on to retain the trophy yet again when they toured in 2020/21. India went on to clinch the famous win at the Gabba stadium on January 19, 2021, where Australia lost after 33 years.