5. First World Cup in Australia

In 1992, the mega event moved to Australia. And in the 20-20 World Cup history, for the first time since its inauguration in 2007, Australia hosted the event in 2022. And as in 1992, it is safe to say that the Aussies did not have a memorable tournament.

4. MCG hosting finals

The MCG hosted the 1992 World Cup final. And yet again in 2022, it will be the MCG that would host the 20-20 World Cup 2022 final. It was Pakistan and England who met in the final last time. Now, both these teams will face each other again in the final.

3. Rain playing spoilsport for South Africa

In 1992, it was the infamous semifinal between South Africa and England that had an abrupt, or a rather bitter and unjust ending due to rain. In 2022, South Africa fell short of qualifying to the semis by a point. And the abandoned match against Zimbabwe came back to haunt them.

2. Australia, the defending champions

In 1987, it was the Aussies’ maiden 50-over World Cup title, led by Allan Border. And in the 20-20 World Cup 2021, it was Aaron Finch’s men that won Australia their maiden 20-20 World Cup. And it will make things interesting if Pakistan win the World Cup this time as they did in 1992.

1. Pakistan beating New Zealand in semifinal

In 1992, Imran Khan-led Pakistan famously sealed a 4-wicket win over New Zealand, courtesy of a top-class knock by the youngster, Inzamam-ul-Haq, who scored 60 off 37. In 2022, it was skipper Babar Azam and Mohammad Rizwan who sealed a thumping 7-wicket win for the Men in Green against the Kiwis.