ENG vs IND: Prasidh Krishna added to India squad for fourth Test

Krishna made his ODI debut for India in the home series against England earlier this year

Prasidh Krishna
Prasidh Krishna ( Image Credit: Twitter)

Fast bowler Prasidh Krishna has been added to the India squad for the fourth Test against England at the Oval. The development was confirmed by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) in an official statement.

The BCCI revealed that Krishna’s inclusion was done on request from the team management. With Krishna in the squad, India now have seven pacers – Ishant Sharma, Umesh Yadav, Shardul Thakur, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj, and Prasidh Krishna, to choose from.

Krishna was picked as a backup pacer for the England tour after delivering some consistent performances in the domestic circuit. He has the ability to clock good speeds and can move the ball both ways, which is a handy skill to have in English conditions.

The tall pacer can extract extra bounce from the surface which will give another dimension to the Indian pace attack. Meanwhile, Krishna made his ODI debut for India in the home series against England earlier this year. The pacer impressed one and all after picking up six wickets in three matches. 

The five-match series is currently poised at 1-1. After a washout in the first game, India took a lead in the series after an emphatic win at Lords before England made things even after crushing the visitors at Headingley. 

The winner of the Oval Test would take an unassailable lead in the series. Meanwhile, with Ishant not in the best of form, and possibly carrying a niggle, India may look to replace him with Shardul Thakur or Umesh Yadav. Krishna getting a game looks a rare possibility. The team management might also go in with two spinners and bring in Ashwin in place of Sharma. The fourth Test gets underway tomorrow, September 2 at the Oval. 

Squad: Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli (c), Ajinkya Rahane (vc), Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Jasprit Bumrah, Ishant Sharma, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj, Shardul Thakur, Umesh Yadav, Wriddhiman Saha (wicket-keeper), Abhimanyu Easwaran, Prithvi Shaw, Suryakumar Yadav, Prasidh Krishna

Joe Root

Joe Root returns to the helm of ICC rankings after six years

Wasim Akram, James Anderson, Glen McGrath

Shane Warne names his top 10 fast bowlers of all time