The Asia Cup will be co-hosted by Pakistan and Sri Lanka. This is the first time the Asia Cup will be held in a hybrid model. Pakistan will be allotted four matches and Sri Lanka will host the remaining nine. The multilateral tournament will be played in the ODI format. The tournament will serve as a warm-up ahead of the ODI World Cup in India. When it comes to last time it was held in the 50 over format, it was in 2018.

In 2022, Pakistan made it to the final of the tournament against Sri Lanka. The Men in Green have won the continental tournament twice. India have got the most titles and have won the multilateral tournament five teams. This is the first time in the history of the tournament where there will be two broadcast teams on show one in Pakistan and the other in Sri Lanka.

When it comes to the format, the group stage will take place and then it will be the Super Fours. India Pakistan and Nepal will be in one group. The other group consists of Sri Lanka, Bangladesh and Afghanistan. The two sides from the group stages will go on to play in the Super Fours. From there the top two sides will play in the finals.

Asia Cup Winners List From 1984 – 2023:

SI.NOTournamentFormatWinnerRunner-upResultFinal Venue
11984 – SharjahODIIndiaSri LankaIndia won the tournamentSharjah CA Stadium,
21986 – ColomboODISri LankaPakistanSri Lanka won by 5 wicketsSinhalese Sports Club Ground,
31988 – DhakaODIIndiaSri LankaIndia won by 6 wicketsBangabandhu National Stadium,
41990/91 – CalcuttaODIIndiaSri LankaIndia won by 7 wicketsEden Gardens,
51995 – SharjahODIIndiaSri LankaIndia won by 8 wicketsSharjah CA Stadium,
61997 – ColomboODISri LankaIndiaSri Lanka won by 8 wicketsR. Premadasa Stadium,
72000 – DhakaODIPakistanSri LankaPakistan won by 39 runsBangabandhu National Stadium,
82004 – ColomboODISri LankaIndiaSri Lanka won by 25 runsR. Premadasa Stadium,
92008 – KarachiODISri LankaIndiaSri Lanka won by 100 runsNational Stadium,
102010 – DambullaODIIndiaSri LankaIndia won by 81 runsRangiri Dambulla International Stadium,
112012 – MirpurODIPakistanBangladeshPakistan won by 2 runsSher-e-Bangla National Stadium,
122014 – MirpurODISri LankaPakistanSri Lanka won by 5 wicketsSher-e-Bangla National Stadium,
132016 – MirpurT20IIndiaBangladeshIndia won by 8 wicketsSher-e-Bangla National Stadium,
142018 – DubaiODIIndiaBangladeshIndia won by 3 wicketsDubai International Cricket Stadium,
152022 – DubaiT20ISri LankaPakistanSL won by 23 runsDubai International Cricket Stadium,
162023ODIIndiaSri LankaIndia won by 10 wicketsR Premadasa Stadium in Colombo

Also Check: MOST RUNS IN ASIA CUP 2023

Asia Cup Winners List with Captain, Man of the Match, and Player of the Series

YearWinnerCaptainMan of the MatchPlayer of the Tournament
2022Sri LankaDasun ShanakaBhanuka RajapaksaWanindu Hasaranga
2018IndiaRohit SharmaLitton DasShikhar Dhawan
2016IndiaMs DhoniShikhar DhawanSabbir Rahman
2014Sri LankaAngelo MathewsLasith MalingaLahiru Thirimanne
2012PakistanMisbah-ul-HaqShahid AfridiShakib Al Hasan
2010IndiaMs DhoniDinesh KarthikShahid Afridi
2008Sri LankaMahela JayawardeneAjantha MendisAjantha Mendis
2004Sri LankaMarvan AtapattuMarvan AtapattuSanath Jayasuriya
2000PakistanMoin KhanMoin KhanMohammad Yousuf
1997Sri LankaArjuna RanatungaMarvan AtapattuArjuna Ranatunga
1995IndiaMohammad AzharuddinMohammad AzharuddinNavjot Sidhu
1990-91IndiaMohammad AzharuddinMohammad Azharuddin
1988IndiaDilip VengsarkarNavjot SidhuNavjot Sidhu
1986Sri LankaDuleep MendisJaved MiandadArjuna Ranatunga
1984IndiaSunil GavaskarSurinder Khanna

Most Titles Wins in Asia Cup:

WinnerVictoriesWinner Year
India71984, 1988, 1990–91, 1995, 2010, 2016 & 2018
Sri Lanka61986, 1997, 2004, 2008, 2014, 2022
Pakistan22000 & 2012