The countdown for the star-studded Asian team is finally over with the 2023 Asia Cup that is set to be jointly hosted by Pakistan and Sri Lanka, featuring Afghanistan, Bangladesh, India, and making its debut, Nepal. The tournament’s history dates back to 1984, originally in the ODI format, although recent editions have alternated between ODI and T20I formats. This year, it returns to the ODI format as the ODI World Cup is scheduled to be played later in October this year.

The Indian team is the most successful team in the history of the tournament with seven titles (six ODI and one T20I), followed by Sri Lanka who have won six (five ODI and one T20I), while Pakistan has clinched the championship twice. In this edition of the Asia Cup, there are six teams which are divided into two groups; Group A consists of India, Pakistan, and Nepal; Group B comprises Afghanistan, Bangladesh, and Sri Lanka.

The Asia Cup 2023 is set to begin on August 30, with round-robin matches within each group, followed by the Super Four stage, where the top two from each group compete. The subsequent round-robin in the Super Four narrows down the contenders for the final which is scheduled to be played on September 17 in Colombo.

From August 30 to September 17, there will be 13 matches that will be played. The group stage takes place from August 30 to September 5, with three matches in Pakistan and then the rest of the matches in Sri Lanka. The Super Four follows from September 6 to 15 and will be majorly hosted in Sri Lanka and then one game in Pakistan. The finale will be played at the R. Premadasa Stadium in Colombo.

The Indian team will not be traveling to Pakistan for any of their matches and will be playing all their matches in Sri Lanka itself. Also, the seven-time Asia Cup Champions will be kickstarting their campaign for the Asia Cup with their opening match against Pakistan on September 2 at Pallekele International Cricket Stadium in Pallekele, Sri Lanka.

Also Check: Most Runs in Asia Cup

Pakistan’s Multan and Lahore, along with Sri Lanka’s Kandy and Colombo, will be the overall venues for the competition. This edition is also special as it marks the inaugural appearance in the Asia Cup for Nepal, who earned the spot with a victory in the ACC Men’s Premier Cup 2023, where they defeated the United Arab Emirates in the final of the tournament by seven wickets.

Let us now look at the fixture for the Asia Cup 2023:

30 AugustPakistan Vs NepalMultan, Pakistan
31 AugustBangladesh Vs Sri LankaKandy, Sri Lanka
2 SeptemberPakistan Vs IndiaKandy, Sri Lanka
3 SeptemberBangladesh Vs AfghanistanLahore, Pakistan
4 SeptemberIndia Vs NepalKandy, Sri Lanka
5 SeptemberAfghanistan v Sri LankaLahore, Pakistan
6 SeptemberPakistan vs BangladeshLahore, Pakistan
9 SeptemberSri Lanka vs BangladeshRPICS, Colombo
10 SeptemberPakistan vs IndiaRPICS, Colombo
12 SeptemberIndia vs Sri LankaRPICS, Colombo
14 SeptemberPakistan vs Sri LankaRPICS, Colombo
15 SeptemberIndia vs BangladeshRPICS, Colombo
17 SeptemberFINAL, India vs Sri LankaRPICS, Colombo

Also Check: Most Wickets in Asia Cup History